EAIE Award for Outstanding Contribution

The EAIE is a community of dedicated and inspiring colleagues who deserve recognition. This award acknowledges individuals who have made a significant or notable contribution to the Association’s work in recent years. It is aimed at all EAIE members who contribute their valuable time and expertise to the Association and the European international higher education community at large. The award can be given to up to four members.

2023 Award winner: Hans-Georg van Liempd

I have had the opportunity to fulfil many roles within the EAIE, always with great pleasure, and hope in this way to have contributed to the development of many professionals and to a better world.

Hans-Georg van Liempd

Tilburg University, the Netherlands

This year’s winner is Hans-Georg van Liempd from Tilburg University in the Netherlands. Hans-George first began sharing his time and expertise with the Association more than 20 years ago. From 2010-2014, he served as Vice-President and then President of the EAIE. Prior to becoming Vice-President, he served on the Conference Programme and Professional Development Committees. After his presidency and time in the General Council, he has continued to actively contribute to the Association. He has been a trainer, member of the Awards and Talent Committee, mentor and advisor to the Mentorship Programme, among other behind-the-scenes responsibilities. He has never hesitated in from sharing his time and knowledge to support the EAIE and wider international education sector.  

Eligibility criteria

  • The nominee is a member of the EAIE.
  • The nominee has made a significant contribution to the Association’s work as for example:
    • a mentor
    • a speaker
    • an author 
    • a rising leader
    • a trainer
    • a contributor to research
    • a bridge builder between Europe and other regions and players in the field
    • and/or other volunteer roles

Rewarding your contribution 

We want to share the winner's journey to success to inspire our European and global community. The award winners will benefit from extensive recognition and exposure via EAIE online media channels. The winner will also benefit from:  

  • Two fee waivers for the EAIE Annual Conference  
  • An EAIE award to display in your home or office   

History of the award

This award honours two exceptional individuals, Jim Frey and Tony Adams. Both were pioneers in championing the benefits of international education and contributed immensely to the Association's work.


Jim Frey is an admired researcher and trainer within international education. He founded Educational Credential Evaluators Inc. in 1980, a non-profit that evaluates international educational credentials to ensure qualifications are fairly recognised across borders. Jim received the first annual EAIE President’s Award in 2008 for his years of service as a leader, advocate, advisor, colleague and friend. In addition, Jim supported the Transatlantic Leadership Award with a substantial endowment. The award was dedicated to his pioneering work nurturing transatlantic relations between higher education institutions in Europe and North America.


A valued member of our international community, Tony Adams was a policy innovator, an inspiring leader and a mentor to many in international higher education. His work on implementing international programmes and developing partnerships between higher education institutions worldwide was far-reaching and opened up the world to many students. His work as co-editor of the Journal of Studies in International Education has had an enduring impact. Tony was a regular trainer and presenter at EAIE conferences over a number of years. Tony passed away in 2011, and the Tony Adams Award for Excellence in Research commemorated his passion and dedication to international education.