EAIE Award for Excellence in Internationalisation

We empower our community to continuously improve on and challenge the status quo in the field of internationalisation. This award celebrates higher education institutions that have developed and implemented creative responses to current and ongoing issues.

2022 winner

The EAIE Award for Excellence in Internationalisation highlights that fostering our empathy and capacity to give without taking back – the core of our humanity – is always worth the cost.

Masaryk University

Czech Republic

This year’s winner is Masaryk University in the Czech Republic, for the work done by its MUNI HELPS volunteer centre.  The MUNI HELPS centre was originally established in response to COVID-19 and  helped coordinated volunteer work at hospitals, on crisis hotlines and in nursing homes, but also focused on everyday needs like childcare and tutoring children, helping people with shopping, and delivering medicine and masks. More recently, the centre pivoted to focus on helping Ukrainian refugees by disseminating information about vacancies for Ukrainians and scholarships for Ukrainian students, as well as interpreting services and a crisis hotline for psychological assistance. 

In addition to the this year’s award winner, the Awards and Talent Committee also commended FH JOANNEUM University of Applied Sciences and The Hague Pathway College, Navitas for their exemplary internationalisation programmes. The winners will be honoured at the 2022 EAIE Conference and Exhibition in Barcelona.

Eligibility checklist

  • The institution is located in one of the member countries of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).  
  • The institution’s activities embody, include and reflect the EAIE values: collaborative, inspiring, inclusive, excellence. 
  • The institution’s activities have specific and significant outcomes, which are available and shared with other institutions.   
  • The nominator is a member of the EAIE and employed by the nominated institution. 

History of the award

This award combines the previous EAIE Institutional Award for Innovation and Internationalisation and the Bo Gregersen Award for Best Practice. Bo Gregersen was an exceptional driving force behind the development of best practices in the field of international higher education.


Bo Gregersen was a collaborative and inclusive leader who personified standards of good practice in international education. He received the EAIE Best Practice Award in 2005 for his instrumental role in helping the Aarhus School of Business in Denmark transition into an international institution. Bo passed away in 2008, and the award was renamed the Bo Gregersen Award for Best Practice to reflect his contribution to international education and his exceptional integrity as a person and colleague.