What’s new in the EU: Erasmus+

What’s new in the EU: Erasmus+

The spring issue of EAIE Forum magazine explored the implications of the new EU umbrella programme for higher education: Erasmus+. This upcoming series of four blog posts extends the discussion online, looking at where Erasmus+ has come from, what all institutions can and should do as a result of the new changes, and – going one step further – how institutions can ensure their Erasmus students are gaining useful, marketable skills while abroad.

Erasmus+ officially came into effect on 1 January 2014, after years of planning. Three key actions form the bulk of Erasmus+:

  1. Mobility of Individuals
  2. Cooperation for innovation and the exchange of good practices
  3. Support for policy reforms

Check out the recent Forum article which breaks down these key actions in brief.

Erasmus: Who’s involved?

Countries taking part in Erasmus+ are categorised as either Programme Countries or Partner Countries. Programme Countries (33 of them) can take part in all actions of Erasmus+, Partner Countries (22 of them) can take part in various aspects of Erasmus+, subject to specific criteria or conditions. All other countries in the world are able to participate in some actions under Erasmus+ but only under certain circumstances. View our Erasmus+ map to find out exactly who’s involved.

Erasmus+ resources

Follow the EAIE blog this week for the upcoming posts on Erasmus+. EAIE members can expect the issue of Forum magazine, dedicated to Erasmus+, to reach them any day now.