Announcing the 2016–2018 EAIE Leadership

Announcing the 2016–2018 EAIE Leadership

Having been built and nurtured by dedicated members, the EAIE continues to rely on the support of active volunteers in order to achieve our mission. Every two years, we elect a new group of volunteer leaders to guide the Association into the future, and are always thankful for the many individuals who raise their hands to offer their time and expertise. We’re very excited to introduce the 2016–2018 Leadership, all of whom have just been elected by our member community. With their collective knowledge, skills and passion for international higher education, we know that they will accomplish great things

The future face of the EAIE: new Vice-President

One of the primary representatives of the EAIE, the Vice-President governs the Association alongside the President and the other members of the Board. We’re very pleased to welcome Sabine Pendl to this important position. Following her two years as the Vice-President, she will become the President.

Certainly no stranger to internationalisation, Sabine Pendl has been working in the field for almost 25 years, and has been Director of the Office of International Relations at the University of Graz in Austria for the last 20 years. She truly enjoys supporting her team of 30 people, identifying their strengths and motivating them to enhance their performance. She looks forward to utilising this expertise within her new role as Vice-President and hopes to continue stimulating EAIE members to enjoy working in international higher education. Sabine has served the EAIE in various capacities over the years, as a trainer, an author, and Chair of the Expert Community Language and Culture.

Innovative leaders: new Board

Together with the President and the Vice-President, these three individuals will make up the new EAIE Board. Responsible for developing and implementing the Association’s strategy, this group regularly monitors and evaluates all EAIE programmes and services to ensure that they remain in line with the strategic plan.

Sara López-Selga
Director of International Relations
Pompeu Fabra University, Spain

Inez Meurs
Ziggurat, the Netherlands

Arnold Persoon
University Partnership Director
Study Group, the Netherlands

‘Big picture’ thinkers: new General Council

Joining the soon-to-be Immediate Past President, Laura Howard on the General Council, are these 14 recently elected members. The highest governing body within the EAIE, this group will provide oversight for the long-term vision, budget and accounts and ensure that the Association operates according to the best interests of its members.

  • Axel Aerden, Accreditation Organisation of the Netherlands and Flanders (NVAO), the Netherlands
  • Marina Casals Sala, Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain
  • Mathias Falkenstein, LUISS Business School, LUISS University, Italy
  • Evelien Hack, Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands
  • Hendrik Jan Hobbes, EP-Nuffic, the Netherlands
  • Peter Kerrigan, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), USA
  • Karin Klitgaard Møller, EDU, Denmark
  • Roberto Napoli, University of Trento, Italy
  • Nidhi Piplani, IILM Institute for Higher Education, India
  • Edwin van Rest, StudyPortals, the Netherlands
  • Michael Rosier, University of Hertfordshire, UK
  • Serge Sych, Central European University, Hungary
  • Stig Arne Skjerven, NOKUT – Norwegian ENIC-NARIC, Norway
  • Els van der Werf, Hanze University of Applied Sciences, the Netherlands

Kings and queens of content: new Expert Community Steering group members

Finally, we’re pleased to welcome the newly elected Expert Community Steering group leaders who will represent member interests in their specialised areas. In addition to providing community support for their members, these groups are the content providers and quality assurers for all of the EAIE’s activities. Log in to My EAIE as a member to see who has been voted in to each of the EAIE’s 15 Expert Communities.

Congratulations to the 2016–2018 Leadership and thank you to all those members who took the time to cast their votes. This future group of leaders will begin their term on 16 September 2016, at the Closing Plenary of the 28th Annual EAIE Conference and Exhibition in Liverpool.

With a new group preparing to take their posts, it also means that it’s nearly time to say goodbye to the very devoted group of leaders that we have had the pleasure of working with over the last two years. Although you’re not quite done yet, we want to say thank you for all the time, energy, expertise and enthusiasm you have dedicated to the EAIE in your role. We hope that you’ll continue to be actively involved!