Vision and Leadership

European Association for International Education

A A A Home Sitemap Contact Blog

Constance Meldrum Award for Vision and Leadership

This award was launched in honour of Constance Meldrum, a staunch supporter of the EAIE during her years at the European Commission where she worked diligently for international education. Her substantial bequest to the EAIE supports this award, which recognises inspiring leaders who have made an outstanding contribution to demonstrating and developing vision and leadership in the field of international higher education.

Eligibility criteria

  • The nominee has a proven record of providing leadership and inspiration to others.
  • Is widely recognised as a person who has contributed to both leadership processes and results in international education with dedication, innovation and perseverance.
  • The nominee has been active in international higher education leadership for at least 10 years with a documented record of high professional standards.
  • Has been involved with the EAIE and its activities, but is not required to be a member.


The call for 2015 award nominations is now closed.

The winner will receive

  • Prize money of €1000.
  • Extensive visibility via all EAIE online channels.
This year's Vision and Leadership Award winner
Siegbert Wuttig

Formerly German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Germany

Past Vision and Leadership Award Winners
Guy Haug

Valencia University of Technology, Spain

Ulf Lie

Norwegian Center for International Cooperation in Higher Education, Norway

Axel Markert

Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Germany

Hans de Wit

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Read about 2015 winners

Forgot username Forgot password